Soma Quartet


Soma is a saxophone quartet formed at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music under the guidance of Otis Murphy. The members of the quartet include Ricardo Martinez (soprano), Paul Lorenz (alto), Sean Bradley (tenor), and Arthur Liang (baritone). Soma was recently awarded the Grand Prize at the 9th Plowman Chamber Music Competition in 2019. Other awards include First Runner-Up in the Classics Alive Young Artist Competition in 2018, First Prize in the 2017 Chicago Woodwind Ensemble Competition. They were also finalists in the 2018 North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition.

Based out of Bloomington, Indiana, Soma has been active since the fall of 2016 and has performed a wide variety of concerts including solo recitals at the International Navy Band Symposium, The inaugural American Single Reed Summit and the North American Saxophone Alliance region five conference. Soma is committed to performing new works to expand the quartet repertoire and has collaborated with several composers from Indiana University. Additionally, Soma has a passion for traditional repertoire and transcriptions, and has performed numerous outreach concerts in venues ranging from retirement centers to coffee shops as well as the Bloomington Transit Center. These outreach concerts serve to further Soma's goal of bringing the saxophone to a broader audience. 

For all bookings, contact Soma Quartet:

Phone *